Hillsborough Community College students Filmon Hailu (left)
and Rafael Fontanez (right), both of Brandon, FL,
are presented scholarship awards by their manager
at Mister Car Wash.

In a recent competition, open to eligible Mister Car Wash employees and their dependents in 21 states, Mister Car Wash awarded 22 scholarships totaling $25,000 in tuition funds.

“At Mister Car Wash, we’re all about inspiring people to shine, and we believe in investing in education,” said John Lai, CEO. “Our outstanding scholarship class of 2017 has impressed us that they each have what it takes to attain their goals and make this world a better place.”

Out of 88 scholarship applications received, Mister Car Wash awarded 19 checks for $1,000 and three checks for $2,000. To earn one of the scholarships, eligible applicants were asked to answer three essay questions.

In his winning essay, Filmon Hailu of Brandon, FL, wrote, “Being the first person in my family to go to college, my main long-term goal is to get my bachelors degree within the next four years. I want to become an engineer and work with computers and technology being that it has always been a passion of mine.” He also wrote about how working at Mister Car Wash has helped him shine. “I’ve learned communication skills, leadership skills, and learned that no matter what, the customer is always right. These traits have helped me when making life decisions on and away from the worksite.”

Awarding tuition scholarships to deserving students like Fimon Hailu and 21 other employees this year is part of Mister Car Wash’s broader Inspiring Futures program. For more information, please visit http://mistercarwash.com/community/. Below are the names, cities, and colleges of all 22 members of Mister Car Wash’s Scholarship Class of 2017:

Melanie Hernandez – Bakersfield, CA – Taft College

Kelsey Brockman – Bakersfield, CA – California State University

Madison LaTurno – Ozark, MO – Missouri State University

Taitum Male – Wyoming, MI – Central Michigan University

Joshua Boot – Wyoming, MI – Grand Valley State University

Eric Weiss – Sandy, UT – Utah Valley University

Bryson Martinez – Abilene, TX – Abilene Christian University

Hanna Bynum – Abilene, TX – Texas Tech University

Jacob Polak – South Milwaukee, WI – University of Wisconsin Stevens Point

Nishith Kusukuntla – Madison, WI – Full Sail University

Eduardo Ballesteros – Tucson, AZ – Pima Community College

Carina Spurlock – Saint Paul, MN – Inver Hills Community College

Gabriel Carreon – El Paso, TX – The University of Texas at El Paso

Gabriella Licari – Tampa, FL – The University of Florida

Filmon Hailu – Tampa, FL – Hillsborough Community College

Rafael Fontanez – Tampa, FL – Hillsborough Community College

Robert Rodriguez – Orlando, FL – University of Central Florida

Skyler Sternes – Orlando, FL – Valencia Community College

Brandi Klick – Orlando, FL – Valencia Community College

Rebekah Belkin – Orlando, FL – Seminole State College

Harmony Sartwell – Severn, MD – Anne Arundel Community College

Kevin Bautista – Austin, TX – Austin Community College